When a Great Thing………………….Isn’t!

Beep Beep Beep Beep Beep………….2am Beep Beep Beep Beep freaking Beep

Now don’t get me wrong here, I know how important smoke alarms in a home are. They are an absolute necessity, they save lives and quite rightly local councils have made them mandatory in new builds. I am truly grateful to have them strategically placed around my home, taking peace in their alerting if necessary presence.
That is until they start beeping incessantly from 2am onwards, loud, intermittent but persistent and sleep piercingly clear beeps. Every 3-4 seconds beep beep beep frustrating sigh beep, temper stimulating beep bloody beep.
YES, I GET IT. The battery is winding down. Okay message delivered and clearly received so can you now please SHUT UP. There is nothing I can do about it until tomorrow when I’ll have to pick up a new battery. [The last battery went in to another beeping smoke alarm, why can’t they all just go at once instead of a instigating a single painstaking attack on innocent sleeping hard working folk such as myself]
Beep Beep Beep
With a sense of malicious glee I did give full consideration to taking a hammer to the beeping smoke alarm with joyful visualisation. But there were practical considerations to take into account – to do that meant I would have to get up and I didn’t want to. I was quite content [aside from the bleeping beeping] where I was, I was warm and cosy and besides there was that dream I’d been having that I was very keen to get back to.
And then it happened, I was sure it wouldn’t but it did………………….the beep just stopped. Not a single beep could be heard, not a single beep resonated from downstairs to upstairs inhibiting sleep from claiming me again. All was reassuringly and comfortingly quiet again. The smoke alarm clearly had done its job and was content to slip back into a peaceful state, for now anyway.
Thank you Thank You Thank you.
Slowly and wonderfully I am slipping back into sleep, oh such bliss.
WHAT WAS THAT???
You have got to be kidding me!
Seriously!
This cannot be happening.
This is not funny!
My dearest hubby, who had not woken during the beeping episode and so could not kill the smoke alarm on my behalf like a good hero would, now had the indecent unbelievable audacity to start snoring.
Brain piercingly temper stimulating snoring.
Hmm, with a sense of malicious glee I contemplate getting that hammer……………………
Sigh.

Sleep well
Gael

2 thoughts on “When a Great Thing………………….Isn’t!

Leave a Reply

